Jan De Vylder, born 1968, is a Flemish architect based in Ghent and Brussels, Belgium. He has worked under his name since 2000. In 2005 together with Inge Vinck jan de vylder architecten was founded. Later on in 2010 architecten de vylder vinck taillieu was founded together with Inge Vinck and Jo Taillieu. And more recent architecten jan de vylder inge vinck was founded with Inge Vinck. In this divers constellations Jan De Vylder has realized several works in Belgium and abroad and has been exhibited in galleries like MANIERA (BE), FRIEDMAN BENDA (US), TOTO MA (JP) and biennials (Venice 2010, 2014, 2016, 2018; Chicago 2014, 2016; Lisbon 2019 and Sao Paolo 2019). Since 2010 editing houses like 2G (ES), A+U (JP), deAedibus (CH), ARCHIVE (ES) and more recent TOTO Publishers (JP) have published several monographs on the work of Jan De Vylder. Moreover severel international nominations and prizes have been won like Schelling Architektur Preise 2016 (DE), Leone d’Argento in La Biennale di Venezia 2018 (IT), Henry van de Velde-award 2018 (BE) and nominated finalist Mies Award 2019 (EU). Jan De Vylder has co-curated the Belgian Pavilion at La Biennale di Venezia in 2016. The exhibitions Caroussel 2015 (gta/ETH-Z); Bravoure Scarcity Beauty (Venice 2016) and Unless Ever People (Venice 2018) opened new reflections on architecture and practice. Jan De Vylder has taught at Sint-Lucas School for Architecture in Ghent and Brussels, at TU Delft, at EPFL Lausanne, and at Accademia di Architettura di Mendrisio, and since 2017 he has been teaching at ETH Zurich.

universum carrousel journey - a studio 
carrousel journey universum - a practice
journey universum carrousel - whatever


Annamaria Prandi
studied at the IUAV Venezia where she graduated with Bernardo Secchi. She started her own studio Ludens together with Andrea Vescovini in 2003. Ludens tackles the many things architecture is about at different approaches, scales, perspectives. Annamaria has been teaching at the ETH in Zurich since 2017 at the chair of Jan De Vylder, with whom she previously taught in Mendrisio. 
https://www.instagram.com/ludens.ludens/
prandi@arch.ethz.ch


Jochen Schamelhout
graduated as an architect from the KU Leuven Faculty of Architecture in Brussels in 2016, after which he worked at various Belgian architectural firms (Gafpa, AgwA). Since 2017 he works as teaching assistant with Professor Jan de Vylder, first in the accademia di architettura in Mendrisio, then at ETH Zurich. In 2020 he founded Elmēs together with Vinh Linh and Thomas Mertens. 
schamelhout@arch.ethz.ch

 

Luca Mostarda

mostarda@arch.ethz.ch

 

Angélique Kuenzle

angelique.kuenzle@arch.ethz.ch

 

Rina Rolli

rolli@arch.ethz.ch

 

Johanna Roth

johanna.roth@arch.ethz.ch

 

Marie Seeger 

seeger@arch.ethz.ch

 

Oliver Xavier Burch

burch@arch.ethz.ch

 

Jakob Junghanss

junghanss@arch.ethz.ch

 

Lukas Ryffel

ryffell@student.ethz.ch


Claudia Janz, administrative staff
janz@arch.ethz.ch



former assistants were

Anne Femmer

http://www.summacumfemmer.com

Theo De Meyer

www.theodemeyer.be

Barbara Mazza

https://cortesemazza.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

111.5542
StudioJanDeVylder_ETH_site_imagesback_11
StudioJanDeVylder_ETH_site_imagesback_12